Tuesday, April 14, 2009
I Can't Believe It's Vegan!
I've been a googling fool lately trying to find out what's safe to eat on this casein free adventure and I stumbled across this PETA website that lists regular grocery store items that are vegan (no animal products = casein free). I read through some of the lists and discovered that Kraft Creamy Italian dressing is casein free! I don't know if it's gluten free, but I was so surprised to find out that it was vegan that I had to search further to check the ingredients list for myself. It's made with soybean oil and other things, but no dairy. I rarely buy salad dressing but this is good to know! I've extended the dairy free only experiment until my docs appointment in May. I really want to see how my body adjusts to eating gluten and cutting out all dairy. Two weeks wasn't enough. I also found out that Oreos are dairy free... and learned the hard way that too much of a good thing is still a bad thing, but delicious none-the-less. I am not by any means thinking of going vegan mind you, but this is a very helpful way to find products that are safe for me to eat.